HISTORY

There is no other profession as steeped in tradition as the law. The Victorian Bar itself has provided the stage for, and developed the careers of this nation's finest legal minds.

Foley's List itself dates back to 1860 when Mr F Corfield commenced as a clerk. At that time he was only Melbourne's second clerk. Following an outstanding career of 43 years, Mr Corfield was succeeded by Mr O'Day in 1903. Mr Ernest J Muir commenced in 1917 but unfortunately died during the Great Depression, and the legacy was continued by his son, F.L. Muir.

In 1947, Mr Jim Foley commenced an enduring family dynasty. His own experience as a Managing Law Clerk at Moule Hamilton & Derham assisted him to progress and grow Foley's List as a premium Clerk's List. In the mid 1950s, Foley's was situated at Selbourne Chambers next to the Menzies Hotel. At that time, barristers also held offices at the Eagle Star Building in Bourke Street and at Saxon House in Little Collins Street.

Mr Kevin Foley joined his father in 1959, and became a partner in 1961. Jim retired in 1973 following 26 years of growth for the List. He died in 1979.

While continuing in his father's footsteps, Kevin Foley realised the need to modernise and introduced new technology to create better accounting and diary systems for Foley's barristers. But it was Kevin's desire to nurture and train many of the clerks who were ultimately licensed by the Bar to establish their own clerking lists for which he is best remembered.

When Kevin Foley died in 1994 Mr John Kelly was appointed head clerk. Currently, the List employs three Clerks and 14 support staff, operating in the heart of Melbourne's legal precinct in Owen Dixon Chambers in William Street, Melbourne. In addition, our barristers now own the List.